More About Community Action Council

Our Mission

Community Action Council prevents, reduces and eliminates poverty for individuals, families and communities through direct services and advocacy.

Implementing our Mission

Community Action Council for Lexington-Fayette, Bourbon, Harrison and Nicholas Counties, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization that studies the causes and effects of poverty in our communities and works toward solutions. The Council addresses poverty in Central Kentucky through service delivery, community involvement, and advocacy.

The Council makes things happen in our communities. Each year we work with more than 20,000 people who are seeking economic security and a chance to achieve self-sufficiency. The Council is a member of the Community Action Partnership, a national network of more than 1,000 community action agencies across the United States that work to eliminate poverty on the local level. We are also a member of Community Action Kentucky, the state association representing Kentucky's 23 community action agencies. The Council has an annual operating budget of more than $40 million and employs more than 350 staff.

Our History

On March 25, 1965 a small group of just five local leaders came together in Lexington to form a nonprofit organization that would address the causes and conditions of poverty in our communities as well as intersect the economic and social injustices preventing opportunity and access for all people. For the last 57 years it has been part of our charge to stand with and amplify the voices of those who are disproportionately impacted by systems of injustice. And while general attitudes toward race may have changed since the civil rights movement began, systematic racism has remained, and violent acts—both seen and unseen—rooted in hatred and oppression toward people of color have continued to plague the black and brown community.

Community Action Council condemns all forms of racism and intolerance and resolves to take measurable actions that affirm our beliefs:

We believe that Black Lives Matter.

We believe we are all diminished when inequalities are not addressed by society.

We believe it is our collective duty to examine the biases we hold so that we can work toward a better future for every member of our community.

We believe it is our moral duty to demand structural change and be part of the solution that ends all forms of racism.


Sharon Price

Executive Director

Bridgett Rice

Director of Human Resources

David Falconbury

Director of Information Technology

Jessica Coffie

Director of Child Development

John A Catron

Director of Property Development and Transportation

Leidy Borges

Director of Community Services

Marty Jones

Director of Housing and Homeless Services

Melissa Tibbs

Director of Sustainability

Steven Gravitt

Chief Financial Officer

Board of Directors

From the start, citizen participation has been an essential element and goal of Community Action. We listen to people with low income and let them take the lead in finding solutions to poverty in our community. By design, the Council's volunteer Board of Directors has a tripartite (three-part) structure.


Mayor Linda Gorton

(Designated Rep: Danielle Sanders)

Bryanna Carroll

Jason Marshall

Daniel Murphy

(Board Chair)

Kimberly Baird

(Board Treasurer)

Michael R. Williams

Art Crosby

George Brown Jr.

Steve Hamilton


Richard Heine

(Assistant Treasurer)

Michael Covert

Denotra Gunther

Michele Lee

(Board Secretary)

Kelly Stein

Tim Feld

Joshua G. Lewis

Debbie Link

Patricia White


Caci Hisle

(Board Vice Chair)

Elizabeth Villafuerte

Mary C. Morton

Connie Godfrey


Ashlee Vogelsang

Denise Beatty

Kelli Parmley

Laura Puente

Our Vision

Our vision is to ensure that all communities are equitable and thriving.

Our Strategic Plan

National Promise

Community action changes people’s lives, embodies the spirit of hope, improves communities and makes America a better place to live. We care about the entire community and we are dedicated to helping people help themselves, and each other.

Counties We Serve

Core Service Area

  • Lexington-Fayette
  • Bourbon County
  • Harrison County
  • Nicholas County

Head Start Or Early Head Start

  • Fayette County
  • Bourbon County
  • Harrison County
  • Nicholas County
  • Scott County
  • Learn More

Migrant & Seasonal Head Start

  • Fayette County
  • Harrison County
  • Madison County
  • Bourbon County
  • Warren County
  • Logan County
  • Daviess County
  • Christian County
  • Pulaski County
  • Casey County
  • Learn More

Early Head Start-Child Care Partnership

South Central Head Start

  • Clark County
  • Estill County
  • Garrard County
  • Jackson County
  • Laurel County
  • Madison County
  • Powell County
  • Rockcastle County

Project Life

  • Louisville [Center]
  • Owensboro [Center]
  • All Counties
  • Learn More


The Council is among the largest nonprofit organizations in Central Kentucky and serves as the foundation of our community’s efforts to help everyone have a fair chance to get ahead.

Community Action Council assists more than 31,000 individuals throughout Central Kentucky, providing various child development and school readiness services, economic and workforce development support, housing, safety net and other services. The Council is able to meet community needs due to the generous support of many funding sources ranging from the Federal and State governments to large foundations and individual businesses and donors.